Dr Nicole Nöske

Biologist and Specialised Journalist

Nicole Nöske studied Biology with focus on botany, microbiology, journalism and communication at the Georg-August -Universität Göttingen (Germany), from which she also received her PhD in Biology. For her diploma thesis (1998-2000) she studied  the biodiversity of epilithic lichens in an arboretum in Sardinia in cooperation with the University of Sassari (Italy). During her PhD studies (2001-2005), she investigated the effects of land use on the diversity of epiphytic lichens and bryophytes in a mountain rain forest in southern Ecuador. This investigation was part of the multidisciplinary DFG research project FOR 402, and was carried out in cooperation with the Universidad  Nacional de Loja (Ecuador) and the Botanic Garden and Botanical Museum of the Free University of Berlin (Germany). From 2005-2008 she was trained as a Specialised Journalist at the Freie Journalistenschule Berlin (Germany).

From 2004-2012 she worked freelance for various biological database and internet projects (BRENDA, LIAS, LIAS Light , Morph D -Base). In 2012, she co-founded the company BIO-Diverse, which activities focus on the research and communication of biological diversity, and of which she is CEO together with Dr. Luciana Zedda.

Nicole Nöske is specialized in the study of biodiversity and ecology, especially of lichens and bryophytes (e.g., design of projects, assessment of diversity patterns, species identification), in the design and content maintenance of databases (quality control, data entry, literature retrieval and analysis), in science communication (editing, writing articles, project coordination, social media) and in knowledge transfer (conception and implementation of environmental educational projects, workshops etc.). She works as project partner or as service provider for science, for educational institutions and for enterprises. Nicole Nöske is ibn member since December 2013.

Dr. Nicole Nöske

Dipl.-Biologin und Fachjournalistin

Nicole Nöske studierte Biologie mit den Schwerpunkten Botanik, Mikrobiologie, Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaften an der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen und promovierte auch dort in Biologie. In ihrer Diplomarbeit (1998-2000) untersuchte sie die Biodiversität epilithischer Flechten in einem Arboretum auf Sardinien in Kooperation mit der Universität Sassari. Während der Doktorarbeit (2001-2005) untersuchte sie die Auswirkungen der Landnutzung auf die Diversität epiphytischer Flechten und Moose in einem Bergregenwald in Südecuador im Rahmen des multidisziplinären DFG-Forschergruppenprojektes FOR 402 und in Kooperation mit der Universidad Nacional de Loja und dem Botanischen Garten und Botanischen Museum der FU Berlin. Sie ließ sich außerdem an der Freien Fachjournalistenschule Berlin (2005-2008) als Fachjournalistin ausbilden.

Von 2004-2012 war sie als freie Mitarbeiterin an verschiedenen universitären biologischen Datenbank- und Internetprojekten (BRENDA, LIAS, LIAS Light, Morph-D-Base) beteiligt. 2012 hat sie die Firma BIO-Diverse zur Erforschung und Kommunikation der biologischen Vielfalt mitbegründet und ist Geschäftsführerin zusammen mit Dr. Luciana Zedda.

Nicole Nöske ist spezialisiert auf die Erforschung der Biodiversität und Ökologie, besonders von Flechten und Moosen (Konzeption von Projekten, Erfassung von Diversitätsmustern, Artenbestimmung etc.), auf die Konzeption und inhaltliche Pflege von Datenbanken (Qualitätssicherung, Dateneingaben, Recherche und Auswertung), auf Wissenschaftskommunikation (Redaktion, Textbeiträge, Koordination von Projekten, Social Media) und Wissensvermittlung (Konzeption und Durchführung von Umweltbildungsprojekten, Workshops etc). Sie arbeitet als Projektpartnerin oder Dienstleisterin für die Wissenschaft, für Bildungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen. Nicole Nöske ist seit Dezember 2013 Mitglied beim ibn.