Intergovernmental Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services" (IPBES)

The Intergovernmental Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES) is an intergovernmental body that is meant to provide a better informed basis for decision making in environmental policies. The basic idea is that decision makers can put forward important topics to IPBES and IPBES tries to assess the best available knowledge on this specific topic and to provide options for actions including their consequences.

The formal founding of IPBES took place in Panama in 2012 and since the second plenary of the more than 100 member states in Antalya in December 2013 IPBES has a first work programme for the period of 2014-2018. This work programme foresees several activities in the working areas of capaicty building, knowledge generation, policy tools and assessments and the respective expert groups and task forces have been established. Members for such groups were nominated by member states and other organizations and chosen by the Bureau and the Multidisciplinary Expert Panel (MEP). The work of the scientists involved is on a voluntary basis only, as are the financial contributions of the member states.

Assessments foreseen in the work programme are:

  • Assessment on pollinators, pollination and food production (adopted in 2016 at IPBES 4)
  • Assessment of scenarios and models of biodiversity and ecosystem services (adopted in 2016 at IPBES 4)
  • Four regional assessments (Africa, Asia-Pacific, Americas, Europe and Central Asia) on biodiversity and ecosystem services
  • Global assessment on land degradation and restoration (ongoing, adoption planned for 2018)
  • Global assessment on biodiversity and ecosystem services, based on the regional assessments (ongoing, adoption planned for 2019)
  • Global assessment on invasive alien species
  • Global assessment on sustainable use of wild species
  • Global assessment on conceptualization of values

The IPBES secretariat (located in Bonn) presents the IPBES products and informs on it's homepage on current developments and all decisions taken by the plenary.

German delegation to IPBES 2 and executive secretary Anne Larigauderie (4 f.l), photo Cornelia Paulsch

The long way to IPBES

A long way to IPBES The way from the first calling for a global science-policy interface for biodiversity (in the Millenium Ecosystem Assessement 2001) to really founding the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services seems as long as the title of that global body itself: it took more than ten years of planning before it was established. A major step was the proposal by UNEP to create "IPBES" similarly to the International Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). The two letter E and S for ecosystem services were added only at the end of the discussion when the idea got more and more accepted that ecosystems provide services for human wellbeing and that these services are threatened and not endlessly available. It became also more obvious that such services have an economic value as well. The ninth Conference of the Parties to the CBD (COP 9 in Mai 2008) officially welcomed the UNEP proposal and the efforts for a first multistakeholder meeting for concrete negotiations for forming IPBES. A gap analysis performed by UNEP claimed in 2009 that there are many different interfaces between biodiversity research and policy worldwide but that they act on very different scales (from regional to global), don't work on a regular basis and in their majority are not permanently funded. The study therefore concluded that none of the existing mechanisms fulfills the requirements of a global body and recommended the funding of a new global instrument. The United Nations General Assembly in December 2010 decided to formally found an intergovernmental body called IPBES. UNEP was requested in February 2011 to facilitate a first plenary meeting in the same year to which all UN member states and stakeholders were invited to participate. This meeting took place in Nairobi and the negotiations were so complicated and heavy that a second meeting had to be scheduled for April 2012 in Panama to finally found IPBES. About 90 states signed the founding resolution and took a first important decision: the international secretariat was given to Bonn. It took four rounds of voting before Germany won against the Republic of Korea by 47 to 43 votes. In the earlier rounds the present states had voted out India, France and Kenya. After founding, the first plenary of the meanwhile more than 100 member states took place in Bonn in January 2013 (IPBES 1). Next to many rules of procedure the IPBES Bureau was elected as well as the major scientific body of IPBES, the Multidisciplinary Expert Panel (MEP). The MEP was elected for an interim period of two years.

Intergovernmental Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services" (IPBES)

Die "Intergovernmental Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services" (IPBES) ist ein zwischenstaatliches Gremium, das helfen soll, umweltpolitische Entscheidungen nach bestem Stand des Wissens zu treffen. Die Grundidee dabei ist, dass politische Entscheidungsträger Anfragen an IPBES stellen können und IPBES versucht, den aktuellen Stand des Wissens zum jeweiligen Problem in einem sog. Assessment zusammen zu tragen und Handlungsoptionen mit ihren jeweiligen Konsequenzen aufzuzeigen.

Formal wurde IPBES 2012 gegründet und seit der zweiten Vollversammlung der mehr als 100 Mitgliedsstaaten im Dezember 2013 in Antalya hat IPBES ein erstes Arbeitsprogramm für den Zeitraum 2014-2018.
Diese Arbeitsprogramm sieht verschiedene Aktivitäten in den Bereich capacity building, knowledge generation, policy tools und assessments vor, wozu Expertengruppe und Taskforces eingesetzt wurden. Die Mitglieder dieser Gruppen wurden von Staaten und Organisationen nominiert und vom IPBES-Vorstand (Bureau) und die Wissenschaftsgremium (Multidisciplinary Expert Panel MEP) ausgewählt. Die Mitarbeit der Wissenschaftler erfolgt ehrenamtlich und auch alle finanziellen Beiträge der Mitgliedsländer erfolgen nur auf freiwilliger Basis.

Als Assessments sind derzeit vorgesehen:

  • kurzfristiges globales Assessment zum Einfluss von Bestäubern und Bestäubung auf die Nahrungsmittelproduktion
  • eine Reihe mittelfristiger regionaler Assessments zu Biodiversität und Ökosystemdienstleistungen,
  • ein mittelfristiges globales Assessment zu Degradation und Restaurierung von Landökosystemen,
  • ein mittelfristiges globales Assessment zu invasiven Arten,
  • ein mittelfristiges globales Assessment zur nachhaltigen Nutzung von Biodiversität,
  • ein langfristiges globales Assessment zu Biodiversität und Ökosystemdienstleistungen, das auf den regionalen Assessments aufbaut.

Das Sekretariat von IPBES (mit Sitz in Bonn) informiert auf seiner eigenen Internetpräsenz über laufenden Entwicklungen und alle getroffenen Entscheidungen der Vollversammlungen.

Deutsche Delegation mit Exekutivsekretärin Anne Larigauderie (4 v.l) bei IPBES 2, Photo Cornelia Paulsch

Der lange Weg zu IPBES

So sperrig die Abkürzung IPBES ist, so lang ist auch die Geschichte der Entstehung dieses globalen Gremiums: bis nämlich aus dem Gedanken, eine internationale Schnittstelle zwischen der weltweiten Biodiversitätsforschung und der für die Umsetzung zuständigen Politik zu schaffen (Millenium Ecosystem Assessment 2001), Realität wurde, ist ein Zeitraum von 10 Jahren vergangen. Als wichtigen Zwischenschritt entwarf das Umweltprogramm der Vereinten Nationen (UNEP) 2007 einen Vorschlag zur Bildung eines "Weltbiodiversitätsrats" nach Vorbild des Weltklimarats (IPCC), die sog. Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES). Dabei kamen die beiden letzten Buchstaben E und S für Ecosystem Services erst gegen Ende der Ausarbeitung hinzu, als sich in den globalen Umweltabkommen die Idee durchsetzte, dass Ökosysteme Dienstleistungen für das Wohlbefinden der Menschen erbringen, die zum einen nicht unerschöpflich sind und zum anderen einen Wert darstellen, der sich auch ökonomisch fassen lässt. Die neunte Vertragsstaatenkonferenz der CBD (COP 9) im Mai 2008 begrüßte offiziell den Vorschlag von UNEP und die Anstrengungen zu einem ersten weltweiten Treffen zur Beratung eines IPBES. Eine Lückenanalyse von UNEP stellte 2009 fest, dass es zwar weltweit viele verschiedene Schnittstellen zwischen biodiversitätsbezogener Wissenschaft und Politik gibt, diese aber in unterschiedlichen räumlichen Skalen agieren (mal national, mal regional), nicht regelmäßig arbeiten und oft auf Einzelprojekten beruhen und außerdem zum größten Teil nicht dauerhaft finanziert sind. Die Studie kam daher zu dem Schluss, dass keiner der existierenden Mechanismen den globalen Anforderungen eines IPBES genügt und empfahl deshalb die Gründung eines neuen globalen Instruments. Die UN-Vollversammlung hatte dann im Dezember 2010 beschlossen, IPBES als unabhängige zwischenstaatliche Einrichtung formal zu gründen. Der UNEP Governing Council beauftragte im Februar 2011 UNEP, noch im gleichen Jahr zu einer ersten Plenumssitzung einzuladen, an der alle UN-Mitgliedsstaaten und Organisationen der Zivilgesellschaft teilnehmen dürfen. Diese Sitzung fand dann in Nairobi statt, aber die Verhandlungen waren so umfangreich und schwierig, dass ein zweites Treffen im April 2012 in Panama angesetzt werden musste, um IPBES schließlich formal zu gründen. Etwa 90 Staaten unterzeichneten in Panama die Gründungsresolution. Eine wichtige Entscheidung fiel gleich in Panama: Der Sitz des internationalen Sekretariats wurde nach Bonn vergeben. Erst im vierten Wahldurchgang setzte sich Deutschland mit 47 zu 43 Stimmen gegen Korea durch. Zuvor hatten die Vertreter der UN-Mitgliedsstaaten sich gegen die Mitbewerber Indien, Frankreich und Kenia entschieden. Eine erste Vollversammlung der mittlerweile deutlich über 100 Mitgliedsstaaten fand im Januar 2013 in Bonn statt. Dabei wurde neben der Festlegung vieler prozeduraler Regeln vor allem der IPBES-Vorstand (Bureau) mit seinem Vorsitzenden Prof. Zakri Abdul Hamid (Malaysia) gewählt und das wissenschaftliche Kerngremium, das Multidisciplinary Expert Panel (MEP) für zwei Jahre besetzt.