Dr Axel Paulsch

Axel Paulsch is geoecologist and was staff member in the ibn office from 2002 until 2009, when he started working for the Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research. In the project “Network-Forum for Biodiversity Research Germany” he worked for the science-policy interface until August 2012. Since September 2012  he is working in the ibn office again.

At present, he takes care of the ibn projects 'Scientific support and coordination in establishing IPBES' and ‘Extracting research needs from CBD programmes and COP decisions’. Both projects are carried out in behalf on the German Federal Agency for Nature Conservation BFN). He represents ibn at CBD-related meetings like COP, SBSTTA or WGRI and joins the meetings of IPBES (Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services).

He was born in Pforzheim in 1966. After his civil service with the German partner of Friends of the Earth (BUND) he studied geoecology at the University of Bayreuth since 1988. His in-depth studies covered biogeography, vegetation science, forest dynamics and environmental problems in developing countries. For his diploma thesis (1994) he studied the ecological strategy of the coniferous tree Araucaria araucana in its relict stands in Chile. In the afro-alpine zone of Mt. Kenya Axel Paulsch investigated the influence of herbivory damage on plant communities in valleys under different touristic use. For his phd thesis (2002) he developed and applied a classification system for disturbed and undisturbed tropical montane forests based on vegetation structure in southern Ecuador. This classification system allows a fast division of larger forested areas into forest types of homogenous structure.

He is member in the following NGOs: BUND, NABU, Diversitas, GFOE (German ecological society) and GTOE (German society for tropical ecology). At the annual meetings of the two latter societies he regularly presents his activities. With the NGO Aktion Zwerggans (a programme to save the Lesser White Fronted Goose) he is in the steering committee. He is chairman of the ibn.

Dr. Axel Paulsch

Der Geoökologe Axel Paulsch war von 2002 bis 2009 Mitarbeiter in der Geschäftsstelle des ibn und arbeitete von 2009 bis August 2012 am Helmholtz Zentrum für Umweltforschung, wo er im Projekt „Netzwerk-Forum zur Biodiversitätsforschung Deutschland" die Politikschnittstelle vertrat. Seit Septemer 2012 ist er wieder in der Geschäftsstelle des ibn angestellt.

Innerhalb des ibn Netzwerkes betreut er zur Zeit die Projekte " Wissenschaftliche Unterstützung und Koordinierung bei der Etablierung von IPBES" und „Analyse des Forschungsbedarfs aus CBD-Programmen und Entscheidungen von Vertragsstaatenkonferenzen“, beides im Aufrag des Bundesamts für Naturschutz.Er vertritt das ibn bei Veranstaltungen der CBD, wie COP, SBSTTA und WGRI, und nimmt an den internationalen Verhandlungen zur Einrichtung des neuen Politikberatungsinstruments IPBES (Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services) teil.

Axel Paulsch wurde 1966 in Pforzheim geboren. Nach seinem Zivildienst beim BUND in Ulm studierte er ab 1988 Geoökologie an der Universität Bayreuth. Während dieses Studiums befasste er sich mit den inhaltlichen Schwerpunkten Biogeographie, Vegetationskunde, Walddynamik und der Umweltproblematik in Entwicklungsländern. Für seine Diplomarbeit beschrieb er die ökologische Strategie der Konifere Araucaria araucana in ihren Reliktarealen in Chile. In der afroalpinen Zone des Mt. Kenya untersuchte er den Einfluß von Herbivorie auf Pflanzengemeinschaften in touristisch unterschiedlich stark genutzten Seitentälern dieses Berges. In seiner Dissertation erarbeitete er ein auf Vegetationsstrukturen basierendes Klassifikationssystem für ungestörte und gestörte tropische Bergwälder am Beispiel Südecuadors. Dieses System erlaubt eine schnelle Gliederung größerer Waldareale in einzelne Waldtypen anhand von physiognomischen Kriterien.

Er ist Mitglied des BUND, des NABU, der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Ökologie (GFÖ), der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Tropenökologie (GTÖ) und von Diversitas Deutschland e.V.. Unter anderem auf den Jahrestagungen der GTÖ und der GFÖ stellt Axel Paulsch regelmäßig seine Aktivitäten in Form von Vorträgen und Postern vor. Er ist erster Vorsitzender des ibn und Vorstandsmitglied der Aktion Zwerggans e.V.