Dr Elisabeth Marquard

Elisabeth Marquard is working as a postdoc at the UFZ – Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research in Leipzig (see personal webpage at UFZ). Her two major fields of interest are ‘biodiversity’ and ‘land consumption’. She has several years of experience in facilitating dialogue processes related to biodiversity-relevant questions. Furthermore, she has been following developments around the Convention on Biological Biodiversity (CBD) and the Intergovernmental Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services for about ten years.

Currently, she is involved in the following projects:

For many years, she has been a team member of the Network-Forum for Biodiversity Research Germany (NeFo), and in 2018 she coordinated this project. In 2018, she was also involved in the ibn-project Analysis of the strategic plan 2010-2020 and the Aichi targets of the CBD to develop proposals for a post-2020 framework.

Elisabeth Marquard studied Biology at the Free University in Berlin and at the University of Amsterdam, with special emphasis on Ecology and Evolutionary Genetics (1999–2004). For her dissertation at the University of Zurich, she examined biodiversity-productivity relationships in grasslands (2005–2009). During her PhD, she was employed at the Max-Planck Institute for Biogeochemistry in Jena and a member of the research group Jena-Experiment (funded by the German Research Foundation). In 2016/2017, she worked for the project “BIBS - Bridging in Biodiversity Science“at the BBIB - Berlin-Brandenburg Institute of Advanced Biodiversity Research and at the Free University in Berlin.

Elisabeth joined the ibn in 2013.

Dr. Elisabeth Marquard

Elisabeth Marquard ist wiss. Mitarbeiterin am UFZ – Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung in Leipzig (siehe persönliche Webseite am UFZ). Ihr hauptsächliches Interesse gilt den Themenbereichen ‚Biodiversität‘ und ‚Flächenverbrauch‘. Sie hat mehrjährige Erfahrung in der Gestaltung von Dialogprozessen zu biodiversitätsrelevanten Fragestellungen. Auch verfolgt sie bereits seit ca. zehn Jahren Entwicklungen rund um das Übereinkommen über biologische Vielfalt (CBD) und die Zwischenstaatliche Plattform für Biodiversität und Ökosystemleistungen (IPBES).

Aktuell ist sie in folgende Projekte eingebunden:

Sie ist langjähriges Teammitglied des Netzwerk-Forums zur Biodiversitätsforschung Deutschland (NeFo) und war im Jahr 2018 auch für die Gesamtkoordination dieses Verbundprojekts zuständig. Im Jahr 2018 war sie außerdem an dem ibn-Projekt Analyse des Strategischen Plans der CBD bis 2020 und den Aichi Biodiversitätszielen zur Entwicklung von Ideen für einen Rahmen nach 2020 beteiligt.

Elisabeth studierte Biologie an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Universiteit van Amsterdam mit den Schwerpunkten Ökologie und Evolutionsgenetik (1999–2004). Für ihre Doktorarbeit an der Universität Zürich untersuchte sie Biodiversitäts-Produktivitäts-Beziehungen im Grasland (2005–2009). Ihre Studien führte sie in dieser Zeit als wiss. Mitarbeiterin des Max-Planck-Instituts für Biogeochemie in Jena im Rahmen des Jena Experiments (DFG-Forschergruppe) durch. 2016/2017 war sie für ein gutes Jahr für das Projekt „BIBS - Bridging in Biodiversity Science“ am BBIB - Berlin-Brandenburgisches Institut für Biodiversitätsforschung und an der Freien Universität Berlin tätig.

Elisabeth ist seit 2013 ibn-Mitglied.